Sponsorless

:frowning: This is going to be the the worst thread in this forum.

Here’s the reason why I decided to start this thread. My first introduction is going to be long so grab and fingerboard and a ledge and shred away as you read my boring story.

When I was signing up for this forum today, I saw the ‘sponsors’ section that you can fill out. Unfortunately, I don’t have any. (Playing sad music) I was ashamed of myself. I was disappointed. Instead of leaving the sponsors section blank, I wrote ‘I SPONSOR MY TRASH SELF’. That made me feel better.

I’ve been shredding since November 2015 so I’ve been fbing for over 2 years now. I’ve been actively engaging on Instagram and I’m hovering around 430 followers at the moment (I only follow around 90 people so I’m not those kinds of ‘cheap’ people). For a while now, I’ve been noticing people with similar skill level as me getting picked up by companies. People ALWAYS say ‘sponsors will eventually come to you so just wait’. And that is what I did - only for so long.

I’ve actually had a couple sponsors in the past, yet I have received nothing so far. I had one particular bad experience with a company named ‘third eye’. When I first joined, he was friendly to me. He even made a custom ramp for me within the first 2 weeks of joining although I never got received it in the end. He wasn’t able to ship it out for a while and I was fine waiting for it. But then it got delayed again around 5 more times. He often posted yet he barely replied to my DMs. After a couple months, I received a message from him saying that he cannot sponsor riders because he is apparently financially troubled with his company. I was furious; not because I was kicked off but because riders who joined after me received their ramps and decks etc. Plus this guy blocked me on both my personal and fb account. I’m also very annoyed at the fact third eye is a successful company now and has a handful of riders.